Blueberry Picking is Hard

Julie Moreno
5 min readJun 12, 2020

The cost is explained by the effort.

Photo taken by the author

I have learned from experience, blueberries are hard to grow and harvest.

They are known for their health benefits, full of antioxidants and vitamins.

Blueberries are the perfect “super”-food.

But they are expensive to buy — usually, $5–6 for a small six-ounce container. Many could easily consume the entire package, standing in the kitchen, without even remembering what we did.

They are the poster child when people say that eating healthy is too expensive.

I like blueberries, but I have never loved them. Probably a reaction to the cost, and because it’s just too easy to pop a sour berry into your mouth when you buy them out of season.

I do value their nutrition and will eat them when available. I even planted four “bushes” in my front yard. I use the word bush lightly because they are small plants and need several years before they become established and produce a significant amount of fruit. I’m also struggling to perfect the growing conditions and learned that I have a mouse outside my house that likes blueberries too.

But I live close to several farms that grow blueberries. And blueberries are an excellent crop to grow if a farmer wants to have people out to visit and see their food…

--

--